Outfit of the day 10/01/17

Well, I am feeling really poorly today, so will probably end up in bed for the duration! Never mind, I have still put on something quite nice on the top half, even though I have my pyjama bottoms on the lower half. If I do manage to go out, I will change into jeans and keep the rest the same.

I am giving blue and grey a rest this week and am wearing some of my brown clothes. The scarf is by Halcyon Days. To be quite honest, although I like the colours and they go with other things in my wardrobe, I was a bit disappointed with the scarf when I opened the parcel. I bought it because I already had the matching enamel bracelet – which is fab! I had been watching the scarf for ages and when I saw that it was available in the sale I snapped it up.

This is where buying online falls down. I was a bit silly and did not check the fabric content before I hit the button. Other scarves by Halcyon Days are clearly marked as silk or wool and I assumed, for some reason, that this one would be wool. As it turned out it isn’t, but instead is modal and a very loosely woven modal at that – very disappointing. Anyway, I couldn’t be bothered to send it back and it still looks pretty nice with this combination of clothes and is light in weight.

Outfit of the day 10/01/17 with Halcyon Days scarf

Outfit of the day 10/01/17 with Halcyon Days scarf

Today’s outfit consists of:

  • Leopard print short sleeved jumper – Lands’ End – image in the collage is from their website.
  • Bronze cashmere cardigan – Pure Collection – image in the collage is similar, mine is a v-neck.
  • Animal print scarf in modal – 140cm size – Halcyon Days.
  • Animal print enamel bracelet – Halcyon Days.
  • Beige enamel earrings – Pilgrim.
  • Tan leather boots – Ted and Muffy AW2016.
  • Caramel and brown leather handbag – Peony and Moore (company sadly no longer exists).

Whilst indigo jeans look OK with this outfit, I would like to get something that works better. Black jeans would be great, but I am weeding out black from my wardrobe. So, I am trying to find some brown trousers – chinos or jeans. I do already have some lovely brown woollen trousers from Marks and Spencer, but I cannot fit into them at the moment! I will keep looking as it is difficult to find the right shade of brown in  a good fit.

Definitely not these, though…

Brown trousers

Brown trousers

Ooh, I nearly forgot. I have finished my last book (rating and review on Goodreads) and have started “After the Fire” by Jane Casey.

After the Fire by Jane Casey

After the Fire by Jane Casey

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Health, Outfit of the day, Reading, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outfit of the day 10/01/17

  1. Fiona Crawford says:

    Goodness me, you are becoming a fashion expert!😄
    If you want a new crime series to try btw, I’m really enjoying Death on a Longship by Marsali Taylor, set in the Shetlands…and there’s a whole series to follow…

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      Well, not at all an expert. Just tracking what I am learning about my own style. It will be interesting to look back and see where I have come from. It all helps in my “rehab”. Thanks for the book recommendation. Must see if it is in the library 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

