Outfit of the day 07/02/17

Whoop! I managed to go out today! Lovely Husband took us both to the garden centre where we had tea and a short walk. Not very exciting for most people, but an achievement for me. We couldn’t stay very long as they are undergoing a major refit and the dust was pretty awful. Luckily, it didn’t set off a cough. TMI coming here, but I am going to be honest. One of the reasons that I don’t go out much is that so many things cause me to cough, and when I say cough what I mean is a cough so bad that I lose continence, feel that I am about to die from the choking and often vomit. So it really is that bad!

Things that set off the cough: perfume, polish, cleaning sprays, dust, ash, smoke, strong smells, eating, drinking, stress, worry, anxiety, fear, pain…. You get the idea? And there is no cure. Amongst other meds, I take a low dose of morphine every day which has the side-effect of suppressing coughs, but also has other nasty side-effects too. Which means more meds and then even more meds to counteract the side-effects of those meds. Hmmm….


Anyway, on a more cheerful note… this is today’s outfit, based on this lovely Hermès scarf called Daimyo Princes du Soleil Levant. It is a silk twill 90cm in a wonderful green (I cannot manage to capture the exact shade in a photo) with blue, pink, fuchsia, gold and silver. The pattern has samurai swords with golden ginkgo leaves. I will write a post focusing on this scarf at a later date.

  • Silk scarf – Daimyo Princes du Soleil Levant – in a cowl knot with the lower edge tucked into the jumper – Hermès.
  • Navy cashmere v-neck jumper – John Lewis.
  • Navy wool and cashmere cardigan – WoolOvers (image shows similar).
  • Indigo jeans – Klass.
  • Navy leather shoes – Hotter.
  • Diamond stud earrings – Blue Nile.
  • Navy enamel and gold bangle – Halcyon Days.
Outfit of the day 07/02/17 with Hermès' Daimyo Princes du Soleil Levant

Outfit of the day 07/02/17 with Hermès’ Daimyo Princes du Soleil Levant


I haven’t said anything yet about my growing love of vintage handbags, but will probably write a post soon. It is rapidly becoming an addiction. There is something so beautiful about the neat, structured and well-made bags which remind me of my childhood. Not that my Mum could afford anything expensive in those days. My love of Hermès and Ferragamo does not mean that I can aspire to their handbags – they are far out of my league! Anyway, I had an email from eBay yesterday about a bag I have been watching. The price had been dropped really low and so it is now on its way to me. I will post more when it arrives. I hope it is as good as it looks:

Vintage cream ostrich leather handbag - Waldybag (photos from eBay seller)

Vintage cream ostrich leather handbag – Waldybag (photos from eBay seller)


I managed to get a bit side-tracked with my reading over the weekend and instead of starting the book I had planned, Mary Kubica’s “The Good Girl”, I put it to one side and read “The Kill” by Jane Casey. Simply because I am enjoying this series so much and I am reading them out of order – oops!

“The Kill” by Jane Casey

When I finished this, I began to read the last book in my other favourite series of the moment: Neil White’s “Cold Kill”. I will update the blog with how I get on with this one.

“Cold Kill” by Neil White

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Handbags, Health, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Reading, Scarves, Shopping, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

