Outfit of the day 01/03/17

There has been a lovely feeling of spring in the air today and I really wanted a trip out. Unfortunately, when your family lives with high levels of stress, as we do on a daily basis, there are occasional “altercations” which tend to change plans. So that is what happened today 😚.

Anyway, I wore the same basic outfit as yesterday, black jumper and cardigan with jeans, but switched scarves and bangles. I bought the scarf a long time ago from Goddess and Swift via Etsy, but don’t wear it very often. On Etsy, the design looked lovely and the colours were almost perfect – black with shades of turquoise, pink, coral and brown. When it arrived, however, I was not very impressed with the quality of the printing and was preparing to return it. Then a bout of illness intervened and I forgot about the scarf completely. So, I wear it from time to time and, if tied in the right way, it actually looks quite nice.

Today’s outfit:

  • Black cashmere v-neck jumper – Marks and Spencer.
  • Black cashmere and merino cardigan – WoolOvers.
  • Indigo jeans – Klass.
  • London blue topaz earrings – Blue Nile.
  • Coral enamel and gold “Agama” bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Turquoise enamel and gold bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Large Acanthus pattern silk scarf – Goddess and Swift via Etsy.
Large Acanthus scarf - Goddess and Swift - collage - #01

Large Acanthus scarf – Goddess and Swift – collage – #01

Reading update

I said to my family last week, when I was laid low with a nasty virus on top of everything else, that you can tell when I am really, really ill – I can’t read! For a few days I simply could not concentrate enough to read, not even trivia via my iPad, never mind a book. Thank goodness I am now back to what passes as normal for me!

Before I write about the books I have been reading, I would like to say something about ebooks. I enjoy reading both print and ebooks, with the print versions only having a slight edge, mainly due to the ease of being able to flip back and forth, and the lack of reliance upon batteries! My local county library has a great ebook system and I love being able to access books so easily without having to leave my bed when I am going through a bad patch. I have found loads of excellent books to read on my iPad and I am glad that I never bought a Kindle. That being said, there are also quite a lot of not so excellent books on the system too, as I found out last week. But, on the whole, I am really pleased with how it all works and have fed that back to the library staff.

So, since I last posted about my reading, I have finished Sara Paretsky’s Brush Back, another great read in her V.I. Warshawski series. I do love V.I. as a heroine!

Brush Back by Sara Paretsky

Brush Back by Sara Paretsky

I have also completed Steven James’ Opening Moves from his Patrick Bowers Files series. I found Steven James’ books on our library ebook catalogue some years ago. They don’t seem to have caught on in the UK, but I really rate them, if you like gory murder/thrillers with a philosophical edge. I have now finished all of this series, which makes me sad, in a strange kind of way. I am sure that other keen readers will understand me!

Opening Moves by Steven James

Opening Moves by Steven James

I am currently reading The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff, which I also found as an ebook, and I wish they had more by this author on the catalogue. I will update Goodreads with a short review when I have finished the book, as I always do.

The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff

The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Libraries, Outfit of the day, Reading, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

