Outfit of the day 07/03/17

What a gorgeous day! It really feels as if Spring is here. We did go out today and, as we drove along, I felt uplifted to see daffodils, crocuses and tiny green buds on the hedgerows at the side of the road. This is my most favourite time of year, with such a feeling of promise.

We went to the garden centre which has recently had a make-over, but left pretty quickly after a short stroll as it was so busy. I couldn’t believe how many people were queueing in the café and we didn’t want to wait as I tend to collapse if I have to stand still for very long. So we went to a pub on the way home and I had a cup of tea (as always) and Lovely Husband enjoyed a beer. Pubs have changed so much since I was eighteen. I can imagine the look I would have got from bar staff back in the 1970s if I had dared to ask for tea! Some pubs were even reluctant to serve women at all in those days.

I based my outfit on a tiny rectangular scarf (22 x 89 cm) that I have had for more than thirty years. It is a little gem, designed by the renowned designer Richard Allan, who once worked for Jacqmar. Of course, I knew nothing about scarves when I bought it from John Lewis all those years ago. The scarf is a lovely silk twill with rolled navy hems and a houndstooth pattern in navy and cream. I wore it in a simple criss-cross knot using a MaiTai horn scarf ring:

  • Navy and cream silk scarf by Richard Allan – John Lewis.
  • Navy cashmere v-neck jumper – John Lewis.
  • Navy cotton v-neck, long-sleeved, t-shirt – Sainsbury’s.
  • Indigo jeans – Cotton Traders.
  • Gold dangle earrings – have had these for years.
  • Cream leather and gold bracelet – Tory Burch.
  • Tan leather ankle boots – Ted and Muffy.
Outfit of the day 07/03/17 with Richard Allan's houndstooth scarf

Outfit of the day 07/03/17 with Richard Allan’s houndstooth scarf

I do have other accessories that go with this scarf and they would also compliment the horn scarf ring:

  • Horn and cream lacquer earrings – Quecraft via Etsy.
  • Horn bangle – Pia.
Horn and lacquer earrings - Quecraft via Etsy

Horn and lacquer earrings – Quecraft via Etsy

Horn bangle - Pia

Horn bangle – Pia

Reading

Since I last posted about books I have finished an ebook and a print book and have given up on an entire series!

I really enjoyed the ebook version of  The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff and wish I could read more of her series. Our library ebook catalogue only has this one book, sadly.

The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff

The Kill Sign by Nichole Christoff

Many years ago I tried to read a fantasy book Faith of the Fallen by Terry Goodkind, but gave up because I couldn’t stand the poor writing and also his political/philosophical views that he makes far too obvious. More recently, in fact over the weekend, I wondered if I had been too biased or harsh and tried again, this time with Wizard’s First Rule the first book in his famous fantasy series, Sword of Truth. Well, I gave up again! The writing was so dire that I simply couldn’t get further than a few chapters. So, that is that for me –  no more Terry Goodkind. I am sure it won’t bother him as his numerous readers and fans have bought enough of his books to make him very wealthy!

I did enjoy reading the third book in Jane Casey’s series about DC Maeve Kerrigan: The Last Girl. I have only one left to read and so I must request this from the library, although I will be sad when I have finished the series.

The Last Girl by Jane Casey

The Last Girl by Jane Casey

As I finish, or occasionally give up, I always write a short review on Goodreads. This way I can track my reading and make sure I keep up with my favourite authors’ output and don’t miss books in series. The site also gives useful suggestions and I can see what my friends are reading too.

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Libraries, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Reading, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

