Outfit of the day 08/03/17

I am so pleased that I was feeling well enough to go out again today! Whoop! Even if it was only one of our garden centre visits again. It is better than lying in bed all day.

Today’s outfit was again based around one of my navy cashmere jumpers and included another cute little gavroche – Bateau Fleuri. This has a pretty pattern of a ship in full sail on stylised waves with flowers, birds, butterflies in shades of blue, purple, turquoise and pink. The rolled hem is navy. I wore it in an easy triangular fold using MaiTai’s smallest horn scarf ring.

  • Navy cashmere v-neck jumper – John Lewis.
  • Navy jeans – Cotton Traders.
  • Blue leather and pale gold wrap bracelet – Ferragamo.
  • Amethyst and gold earrings – Luke Ashby, Tree of Life, Cockington Court Craft Centre, Torquay.
  • Gold ring – Tree of Life, as above. Apologies for the image, but this is the only one I could find. The earrings are based on the same Celtic style pattern.
  • Horn scarf ring, smallest size – MaiTai.
  • Silk scarf, gavroche size – Bateau Fleuri – Hermès.

Oh, and please excuse my rather bleary expression. I may be feeling a bit stronger, but I am still very ill indeed. I had better replenish my make-up drawer!

Bateau Fleuri - Hermès - collage #01

Bateau Fleuri – Hermès – collage #01

International Women's Day logo

Lovely husband and I had a rather strange discussion whilst we were out. He said that he was getting concerned about how stroppy I am getting as I get older (which is a bit rich coming from him!). I got a bit cross with him for saying that and decided to change the subject.

Thinking about it now that I am back home, I probably agree that I am certainly becoming less accommodating to male assumptions that women should take a back seat and listen to them speaking (pontificating) first! I am an educated woman with a wide ranging general knowledge and the training to research if I don’t know anything about a subject. I also live in an all-male household and, no matter how I have tried, even my nice chaps seem to have some of that male privilege which makes them think that their views are more important and should be listened to.

Also, I think that most women get stroppier as we get older because we stop worrying what other people think! I have certainly got even more feminist in my old age. This is why I think that this relates to International Women’s Day. It may be only a small matter in the general run of things, but this pervading idea that when many women speak out they are being “stroppy” or, even worse, “shrill”, really annoys me. When some men speak they are being “authoritative” and “firm” even when they are talking a lot of nonsense!

This has a massive effect on how seriously, or not, women’s issues are treated. And this seems to have got worse in recent years, with strong women being “no platformed” for holding what may be controversial views to some, so that they are not able to even express those views. Germaine Greer is one such person. I admire her enormously and have done since I read The Female Eunuch when I was at university. I don’t agree with everything that she says, but she should be heard, especially  by the young, instead of being gagged.

Anyway, I will stop my feminist “rant” there and go back to some reading. Stroppy old women of the world unite!

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Family, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Politics, Scarves, Wardrobe, Women's Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

