Wardrobe planning #11: Scarf tying

When I look at the lovely photos posted on The Purse Forum, I am in awe of the wonderful range of scarf tying displayed. In fact, I first came to Hermès scarves through MaiTai’s amazing blog and was so impressed with her scarf knotting skills that I started to practise my own versions. I now have a set of favourites that I tend to use most of the time, but I am always happy to learn new ones. Mind you, I have heard that, first of all, wearing scarves is considered to be old-fashioned and, secondly, that we should all be like Parisians and simply knot them casually.

Well, I say let’s do what we want and boo to any fashion rules! I love playing around with scarves and will probably still be wearing one when I am in my final nursing home.

Some favourite scarf ties

Some favourite scarf ties

There are so many fabulous videos and tutorials out there showing how to tie scarves that there is no point in me trying to make my own. The first important site for this is MaiTai’s own:

MaiTai’s Picture Book
Scarf tutorials page
A comprehensive set of step-by-step tutorials for a lovely range of scarf ties. I recommend the rest of her site and also her shop.

As an example, here is her video explaining how to tie the asymmetrical wrap – one of my favourites with a 90cm scarf.

Gurl.com
20 Style Tips On How To Wear and Tie A Scarf For Any Season20 Style Tips On How To Wear and Tie A Scarf For Any Season
Loads of ideas gathered together in one post.

Hello Glow
13 Super Stylish Ways to Tie a Scarf
A post with written scarf tutorials.

Pinterest
1000+ ideas about Tie a Scarf
A huge collection of ideas about scarf knotting on Pinterest.

Scarves.net
The Knot Library – Master List
An amazing “library” of scarf knots with tutorials.


More Videos
Here are a range of YouTube videos that you may find useful…

I hope that you get loads of ideas from this week’s post – please let me know what you try!

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Scarves, Wardrobe, Wardrobe planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wardrobe planning #11: Scarf tying

  1. Pingback: Scarf of the moment: La Promenade de Platon | The Librain……retired

Leave a Reply

