Outfit of the day 21/03/17

I would think that it was pretty obvious that I was very down last Friday when I posted. It had been a really awful week with lots of rows and upsets in the family and my mental and physical health reacted badly, so I let rip on here. Thank you to those of you who supported me on Facebook and on this blog.

Over the weekend, I gave myself a talking to and also had a long think about my situation. A big issue is that I have got so unfit that I can hardly do anything without wheezing and coughing. I have out on an awful lot of weight, due to this lack of fitness and also the steroid “munchies”. So, I am going to try to address that as the weather warms up. My plan is to enlist my sons in helping me to start to walk again, a few steps at a time, and try to build up slowly. I am aiming to go through the stages that I learned on the rehab course that I did a few years ago through the NHS. The idea was that you would walk a short distance and add in an extra few minutes each day. Not pushing too hard and then getting a relapse. Well, I will at least try and see what happens. There was also a small amount of weight training involved. This is also needed as my muscles are becoming very weak and lacking in tone.

I will continue to use this blog to document my feelings and progress – as a friend said “we don’t have to read it”. It really helps me to look back at posts and see how I have been. Even the bad times tell me something!

Yesterday, I felt a lot better mentally and today has been similar, except that I was really nauseous this morning and only went downstairs for a couple of hours. My outfit was not very exciting, but I will show the different elements in a collage, even if I didn’t take a photo of myself as I looked a bit green in the face.

  • Multi-coloured viscose scarf – present from Elder Son.
  • Aqua cotton mix cable jumper – Lands’ End.
  • Navy floral viscose mix pyjama trousers – Sainsbury’s.
  • Navy suede slippers – Lands’ End.
  • Pearl stud earrings – present.
  • Rose gold, mother of pearl and crystal watch – Skagen. The image is of a similar watch, although mine has a row of tiny crystals each side of the face – love my bling!
Outfit of the day 21/03/17

Outfit of the day 21/03/17

I will do a catch up on my reading tomorrow, if I feel OK. Today, I did finish a book and also watched a couple of TV programmes. I have been gripped by the adaptation of Len Deighton’s SS-GB and LH and I are wondering if they will make a second series as this one has been so good. I read the book so long ago that I can barely remember it, so I have no idea how close the TV version was to the book. Maybe I will read it again, although I bet there will be a long queue for it at the library. We both thought that the atmosphere and costumes were great.

The other programme we watched was the latest episode of Broadchurch, series 3. This is much better than the second series, which was a disappointment. I have found it all very fascinating, however, as some of the filming has been done on my favourite street in Clevedon, where my Mum spent her final years. We used to love wandering along Hill Road, having coffee and cake, stopping in a rather swish boutique and chatting to her friends as we walked. Some of my nicest clothes were from shops on this road and we used to enjoy meals in some of the restaurants too. In Broadchurch, they have changed the shops quite a lot and also added in a hotel, so it doesn’t look the same, but it is nice to see Hill Road again. Clevedon is a small and pretty seaside town in North Somerset – the views across the Severn Estuary towards the Welsh coast can be spectacular.

Here are a few of images of Clevedon taken from Flickr:

Almost Gone by Andi Campbell-Jones

Almost Gone by Andi Campbell-Jones

The Esplanade by Chris Lovelock

The Esplanade by Chris Lovelock

Hill Road Clevedon by Glenn Wood

Hill Road Clevedon by Glenn Wood


Images

Almost Gone by Andi Campbell-Jones on Flickr

The Esplanade by Chris Lovelock on Flickr

Hill Road Clevedon by Glenn Wood on Flickr

If you want to see more photos of this picturesque town, there is a Clevedon Group on Flickr.

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Family, Health, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outfit of the day 21/03/17

  1. Fiona Crawford says:

    Well, the SSGB book had a very different ending. I think they have left this one hanging so they can have the option of writing a second series

    Must say Anne, I feel like a very badly dressed slob looking at your carefully planned outfits! I’m just a t shirt and jeans gal myself.😄

    Muscle tone is easily lost. I’m currently doing physio for my left thigh area as I struggle going upstairs. I’m still finding it a bit tough….but earlier today nearly RAN up the stairs. Little and often is definitely the right approach. Persevere, but don’t beat yourself up on the days you just can’t do it

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      I just couldn’t remember the ending in the book and I agree that they have left things open. As to the outfits – how else do I fill my time? I realised that I had all these nice clothes and accessories and I wasn’t actually wearing them. As I could kick the bucket any day, I don’t want to waste what I have got. Blimey! Running up the stairs – I can only just about stagger and that’s on a good day 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

