Outfit of the day 29/03/17

Another grey and gloomy day here and I feel tired and washed out. I am beginning to wonder if I am reacting to the clock change. It sounds a bit silly, but Elder Son comes in for a cuddle and chat most mornings before he gets ready for work. Now that usually happens at about 7.30 to 8.00, but my body still thinks it is an hour earlier, which is far too early for this ill and retired body! I hope this feeling eases off as the week goes on.

So, I got dressed with a view to going out, but that has not happened again. Never mind, at least I can look glam in my gorgeous Parures de Samouraïs scarf for myself and Lovely Husband.

I have experimented a bit today with the scarf knot. Instead of simply draping the bias folded scarf around my neck, I have given it a few twists first, then tied it in a crisscross knot using a MaiTai horn scarf ring, before turning it so that the ends fell to one side. This seems to show off lots of the different colours in the design.

I am also wearing three of my Halcyon Days enamel bangles. The coral and cream really set off the scarf and the pretty patterns go well together. The bangles stack nicely together as they are all the same size, but can vary in width.

Today’s outfit:

  • Silk scarf – Parures de Samouraïs 90cm – Hermès. Tied in a twisted crisscross knot.
  • Aqua cotton mix cable jumper – Lands’ End.
  • Navy cotton jeans – Cotton Traders.
  • Coral enamel and gold bangles – one patterned, one plain – Halcyon Days.
  • Cream enamel and gold patterned bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Crystal and gold earrings.
Outfit of the day 29/03/17 with Hermès' Parures de Samouraïs

Outfit of the day 29/03/17 with Hermès’ Parures de Samouraïs

Reading

Over the weekend I finished After She’s Gone by Lisa Jackson. To be quite honest, I am not sure why I bothered to finish it. The book really was pretty awful. The main characters were unlikable and their motivations illogical. The plot was quite gripping, but, at the same time, rather silly. All in all, not a great read and not recommended! I must still have some hang ups from my youth, though. It was drummed into us at the school that you always had to finish every book that you started. Similarly with food on your plate. I keep trying to shake off that kind of thinking, but it is hard to stop ingrained habits.

When I was a school librarian, I tried to keep a balance when talking to students about finishing books, in that I would suggest that they read a few chapters before giving up. Some books take a while to take off and then, when they do… Others, well you know quite quickly that they are going to take hold of your imagination, or not…

After She's Gone by Lisa Jackson

After She’s Gone by Lisa Jackson

Today, I am continuing to read the book I requested from the local library: Elly Griffiths’ The Janus Stone, the second in her Ruth Galloway series. I love Ruth as a character, as I said when I finished the first book. She is a forensic archaeologist and my first degree, in Ancient History and Archaeology, involved some degree of archaeological digging. Mind you, I was terrible at the practical stuff! During the 1970s I took part in digs in Droitwich, Leicester, and Orkney. I don’t mind getting muddy, but I was hopeless at seeing the different soil colours in the layers and tended to ruin digs by powering down and down with my pick axe! I will always remember the rescue dig in Leicester in the scorching Summer of 1976, sitting in a hole, covered in sweat, dust and mud. Those heavy cast iron wheelbarrows! Those thin planks on the way to the spoil heap! 😄😄😄

The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths

The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Reading, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outfit of the day 29/03/17

  1. Katie says:

    Hi there!
    My oh my, but your scarf is a beauty and you tied it perfectly!
    My first love was archeology, and while in college I participated on at dig at Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s house in Seneca Falls, NY. It was quite exciting, and I found a perfume stopper! I have some friends that go to Isreal every year to dig.
    It has been cold and dreary here….seems like spring does not want to come….ever!
    We turned our clocks forward on the 12th, it’s only just beginning to lighten up when the alarm goes off in the morning…my poor husband drives to work in the dark.
    Have a lovely evening!
    Katie

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      Katie, thanks for reading my post. Yes, the scarf is so lovely. Interesting that you have also been on a dig. On the three digs I did we found Roman and Viking remains! Loads of pottery and bones, especially on the Leicester dig.

      The weather here has been pretty gloomy for the last two days, but we have had some lovely sunny days too. In the UK the weather can change within just a few miles. This is probably why we are so obsessed with it. We can get sunshine, rain and snow all on the same day, even in the Summer!
      Best wishes to you, Anne

      Like

      • Katie says:

        Viking remains!! I am envious! My boys were mad for Vikings when they were younger, I think they still are.
        And weather is crazy….we had a wind storm this afternoon, the internet and our landline were down for a while. Expecting snow on Friday. Can’t wait for sunshine and flowers….
        Until next time!xx
        Katie

        Like

Leave a Reply

