Outfit of the day 20/04/17

I am still feeling very dizzy, weak and ill. Elder Son was in super fuss-mode this morning, which is very wearing. I worry when he starts on like this that it will develop into a full melt-down. He went out for the day and I am hoping that he has calmed down when he gets home again.

Younger Son has been cleaning my car as we have now insured him to drive it! I will be taking him out in it as soon as I feel a bit better. But the thought of him driving on his own fills me with dread, although he is a very sensible lad.

I only managed a couple of hours downstairs before coming back up to bed. We watched a recorded episode of Holby City, plus Jeremy Corbyn’s speech. I am still very worried about what will happen in this country, before, during and after the General Election.

I don’t usually wear the same scarf more than once in a week, but was not in the mood to change over. So today’s outfit is:

  • Silk scarf, 90cm – Au Pays des Oiseaux Fleurs – Hermès. Knotted like a tie to show off the lovely hem (see the second picture for a close-up of the hem).
  • Bright teal cotton mix cardigan – Lands’ End.
  • Dark navy cotton mix short-sleeved top – Lands’ End.
  • Navy cotton jeans – Cotton Traders.
  • London blue topaz earrings – Blue Nile.
  • Navy enamel and gold patterned wide bangle – Halcyon Days.
Au Pays des Oiseaux Fleurs - Hermès - collage #01

Au Pays des Oiseaux Fleurs – Hermès – collage #02

I also played with another knot later in the day – this half-bow knot is one of my favourites as it really shows off the scarf, although perhaps it can look a bit fussy and overdone for a casual outfit. It would look great with a plain shift dress for evenings, but then I don’t wear plain shift dresses on an evening these days!

Au Pays des Oiseaux Fleurs - Hermès - in a half-bow knot

Au Pays des Oiseaux Fleurs – Hermès – in a half-bow knot

I nearly used a smaller version of the above photo, but thought that the details would be more visible in this larger size.

Reading

I finished Crash & Burn by Lisa Gardner yesterday evening. The book was an enjoyable mystery with a touch of the supernatural. Characters from Gardner’s other books were old favourites, but the two main protagonists were very strange, intentionally so. I have written a short review on Goodreads – it is so useful and interesting to track my reading on that site.

Crash & Burn by Lisa Gardner

Crash & Burn by Lisa Gardner

After watching the the series on the TV, I decided that I wanted to re-read Len Deighton’s SS-GB. I think I probably read this in the early 80s, so have forgotten the written version of the story. This is an ebook that I have borrowed from the public library’s digital collection – it is very easy to read on my iPad. I have two ebook and three print books in my reading queue before I will turn to the new John Connolly that I mentioned yesterday.

SS-GB by Len Deighton

SS-GB by Len Deighton

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Family, Health, Libraries, Lifestyle, Reading, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outfit of the day 20/04/17

  1. Blighty says:

    I love the half-bow on you, it looks fab! I think it is fine for casual, in fact out of solidarity I will wear a scarf in this knot today. It’s a knot I usually forget all about. Sorry to hear you have been unwell, that is rotten. I watched SS-GB on the TV, I loved it, it had all the requirements – explosions, moody mumbling and Nazis from Central Casting in lots of leather. Have never read the book though I used to like Len Deighton books. I am always changing how I keep track of what I read – I tried Library Think, Pinterest and now I put what I have read on Instagram…I also keep a notebook where I write mini reviews so I can say what I really think!

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      I used to use Library Thing for my last school library, but have now moved over to Goodreads and am madly trying to remember everything I have read to enter it on there. It is OK to add on books as I finish them, but putting on older reads…well, my memory isn’t that good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

