Outfit of the day 25/04/17

It is time to introduce my favourite Spring scarf: Hermès’ Dans un Jardin Anglais 90cm, designed by Alice Shirley. You may remember that I have already shown the pretty twilly of this design, back in January. I love this time of year with new flowers and fresh blossom and leaves bursting out on the trees around here. This scarf embodies Spring for me with its depiction of an English garden. Trees, flowers and plants of every kind are shown with a host of creatures: birds, butterflies, deer, rabbits, badgers and even a peacock. I will write a Scarf of the Moment post about it in a few weeks.

Dans un Jardin Anglais is unusual in that the design goes diagonally across the scarf. So that the elements don’t look upside down, I tend to wear it in a cowboy cowl knot as in the image below. It does look lovely in other knots too and I will continue to wear it into the Summer. The background colour is in my absolutely favourite Hermès colour: lilac, and there are shades of blue, aqua, purple, yellow, green, brown and orange. Simply beautiful 😍

Today’s outfit:

  • Silk scarf 90cm – Dans un Jardin Anglais – Hermès.
  • Aqua cotton mix cable jumper – Lands’ End.
  • Navy cotton joggers – Cotton Traders.
  • Lilac enamel and gold plain bangle – Halcyon Days. This is an almost exact match to the background colour of the scarf.
  • Turquoise enamel and rose gold, giraffe pattern bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Yellow, white and rose gold with crystal earrings.
Dans un Jardin Anglais - Hermès - collage #01

Dans un Jardin Anglais – Hermès – collage #01

Well, I had a first today! We finally sorted out the insurance and AA cover for Younger Son to drive my car and he took me out in it around our neighbourhood. I must admit that I was very nervous and was quite overwhelmed when we got back home. Nothing to do with him at all as he did well and, with more practice, will be a competent driver at the very least. The reason the situation took so much out of me must be because of my physical and mental health issues. It is so frustrating to feel like this – so weak and feeble.

On a more positive note, over the weekend I found one of my Grail scarves on eBay and bought it after some negotiations. I don’t suppose that it would be anyone else’s Grail, but it fits nicely with my love of the ancient world and I have been looking for an affordable and nice colourway for some time. Tomorrow’s post will reveal which scarf!

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Family, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Scarves, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

