Update 26/04/17

I woke up this morning in excruciating pain from acid reflux, which lasted until lunchtime despite taking my prescribed meds. This washed me out so much that I had to stay in bed and could not fulfil my plan of going to the library to pick up reserved books.

Oops! I said I would reveal my new scarf today! Well, that will have to wait until I have the strength to take some photos as the ones on eBay didn’t get the colours quite right. That’s OK, though, because I knew from the description that it was the colourway I have been seeking for a while. I will try again tomorrow.

Now, back to books…

The Crow Trap by Ann Cleeves

The Crow Trap by Ann Cleeves

Fortunately, my local public library service has a pretty good ebook collection and I have been reading the first book in Ann Cleeves’ Vera Stanhope series: The Crow Trap. It was very enjoyable and I have already stacked up the sequels in my digital loans from the library. I have already reviewed The Crow Trap on Goodreads and will quote that here:

Started to read this series as I have enjoyed the TV adaptations so much. In fact, this book surprised me in that the format was so different to the screenplays. Told from the different characters’ points of view, Vera Stanhope only appears part of the way through after we have met many of the main characters. The plot was pretty complex, with lots of back stories which eventually came together. Will definitely work through the rest of the series, so it is great that our public library digital collection has all of them!

OK, so not a very profound review, but, as I have said many times before, I am not a good reviewer and I can’t wait to get on with my next book!

Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard

Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard

Since I last wrote about my reading, I have also finished Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard. This was a great first book – an exciting thriller largely set on board a cruise ship and using modern technology and social media in a really positive and appropriate way. Lots of missing persons, murder, mayhem and mystery!

The Wrong Girl by David Hewson

The Wrong Girl by David Hewson

My next book, before I go in and get a new stack from the library, will be David Hewson’s The Wrong Girl. This is the second in his Pieter Vos series, set in Amsterdam. Hewson is perhaps better known for turning the famous The Killing TV programmes into novel form.

I hope that I feel better tomorrow, but even if I don’t, at least I have plenty to read!

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Health, Libraries, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

