Update 04/05/17

A beautiful sunny day today, although quite windy. We have stayed in because Lovely Husband has had a bit of a reaction to yesterday’s procedure at the hospital.

A Game of Ghosts by John Connolly

A Game of Ghosts by John Connolly

This afternoon, I finished the wonderful John Connolly book, A Game of Ghosts, which I have been reading for the last few days. As I sit here in bed, my feelings about the book are best summed up in the review I have just written on Goodreads:

A John Connolly book always leaves me haunted. It is a book I want to read slowly, that I don’t really want to finish because I know I will have to wait until he writes and publishes the next one. Because I know that no other books will satisfy me so completely as his do. Such an amazing mixture of crime, mysterious feelings, brilliant writing, suspense, shock, horror, ghosts….I am haunted again.

Telling Tales by Ann Cleeves

Telling Tales by Ann Cleeves

I have also recently completed Ann Cleeves’ Telling Tales, second in her Vera Stanhope series and I have the third one, Hidden Depths, lined up in ebook format from the public library. I hope to start that one tomorrow. I found Telling Tales very interesting as it is set in a fictional version of East Yorkshire, near Hull. As LH’s family come from that area, and a small branch of mine too, it is somewhat familiar. I always like a setting that resonates, even if only a little.

Hidden Depths by Ann Cleeves

Hidden Depths by Ann Cleeves

I hope that we are all feeling OK this evening  and can go to the polling station as a family to vote for our local councillors. We usually go “en masse” like this and it feels good to participate together.

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Family, Lifestyle, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

