Wardrobe planning #22: Wardrobe colour wheel update

If you look back to my early posts in the Wardrobe Planning topic (posts #02, and #03), I showed two colour wheels. These demonstrated the colours that I intended to have for my clothes and accessories. I have been moving my wardrobe across to these colours and weeding out any anomalies for some years now. This means that just about everything in my wardrobe goes with just about everything else and that all my clothes have lovely accessories to accompany them, with very few exceptions.

As I have been writing this blog, I have been thinking more and more about how my clothing works for me. Yes, I have a lot of time to spend thinking! I don’t want to have really rigid rules to keep to, whilst at the same time I do find guidelines helpful. The dangers of having such easy access to online shopping, plus very little self-control in my case, means that I could act like the proverbial kiddy in a sweetshop: seeing something pretty and buying it on the spot. Instead, having some guidelines does at the very least mean that I can open my wardrobe and find a suitable outfit easily, instead of looking at a rainbow of mismatched garments.

Anyway, I took a fresh look at my existing colour wheels and also at my clothes, especially as we have changed seasons since I first designed the wheels. It has become clear that, although I like the main colours – navy, brown, turquoise, purple, cream and coral – I don’t wish to stick rigidly to any particular shade of those colours. So I exported the colour chart from Excel into PowerPoint to more easily label each colour slice to show what I mean…

Wardrobe Colours chart version #03

Wardrobe Colours chart version #03

I am finding that certain shades of each colour fit with my clothing needs (which suit me best, which go best with other colours, which are actually available) better then others:

Brown

  • Base colour, so I need trousers, jumpers, tops, cardigans, footwear, handbags and accessories.
  • Shades: only certain of these suit me without being overwhelming.
  • Dark shades e.g. chocolate, only in small amounts such as a leather bracelet.
  • Mid shades e.g. tan, camel: suit me well so I can take these in larger amounts such as footwear, trousers, handbags, but not such much next to my face without a scarf or necklace.
  • Light shades e.g. beige: not next to my face as not enough contrast, but fine as bottoms!
Accessories in shades of brown

Accessories in shades of brown

Navy

  • Base colour, so I need trousers, jumpers, tops, cardigans, footwear, handbags and accessories.
  • Very dark navy is too much for my complexion, so a lighter, brighter shade is better, or I wear indigo, for example, on my bottom half!
  • Mid blues are fine for me, such as cobalt or royal blue, and I can wear them as bottoms or tops and especially as accessories as an accent colour.
  • Pale blues wash me out, so I don’t tend to wear them unless they are a small part of a mixed colour scarf, for example.
Accessories in shades of blue

Accessories in shades of blue

Turquoise

  • Accent colour, so tops, perhaps footwear, handbags and accessories to lift an outfit.
  • I love this part of the colour wheel so adore all shades from teal to aqua. The darker teals are a bit autumnal for me, but can work as bottoms or with a brighter scarf next to my face. My eyes are very close to teal coloured!
  • Turquoise itself is my favourite colour and I have lots of clothes and accessories in this.
  • Blue topaz is one of my most loved gemstones for jewellery.
  • Aqua, as long as it is not too pale, is fine for Spring and Summer clothes and accessories.
Accessories in shades of turquoise

Accessories in shades of turquoise

Purple

  • Accent colour, so tops, perhaps footwear, handbags and accessories to lift an outfit.
  • Dark shades seem to work best for me in Autumn/Winter and I could do with more tops and cardigans.
  • Mid or bright purple fits for me almost all year round as tops, t-shirts and vests or accessories and footwear. Remember my lovely purple handbag? I also have and love amethyst jewellery.
  • Light shades e.g. Lavender, lilac seem to be coming into my wardrobe now and I love them! I have some gorgeous scarves and one enamel bangle. Perhaps I could look for more jewellery in these colours?
Accessories in shades of purple

Accessories in shades of purple

Cream

  • Accent colour, so tops, perhaps footwear, handbags and accessories to lift an outfit.
  • Bright white can look a bit stark next to my face and needs to be softened a little, but cream and ivory are fine.
  • I have plenty of tops in this colour and also a white linen skirt. I think I am a bit too, erm, “spherical” for white jeans!
  • I love pearls and have earrings and a long rope necklace.
  • Accessories, handbags and footwear in cream, white and ivory have a place in my wardrobe.
Accessories in shades of cream and coral

Accessories in shades of cream and coral

Coral

  • Accent colour, so tops, perhaps footwear, handbags and accessories to lift an outfit.
  • I have never really been a pink person and I do not think that the paler shades or really strong cerise or fuchsia suit me, despite my lovely hobo handbag!
  • Bright coral is a great colour for me as it helps lift my complexion, especially now that I am so ill. I have a range of summer tops and some jewellery in coral colour.
  • Warm shades of pink are fine for me, not the bluer shades.
  • I think this is really a Spring/Summer colour for me, although never say “never”! Rules are meant to be broken!

Oops, reading this back, it has been more than a little obsessive as to detail, but perhaps it might give you ideas for how to analyse your own present wardrobe and plan your needs for the future.

Best wishes,

💙💛❤️💚💜

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Wardrobe, Wardrobe planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wardrobe planning #22: Wardrobe colour wheel update

  1. Pudfish says:

    This is amazing! My own wardrobe follows the kid in the sweet shop model!! I do love purples though, and navy blue is my favourite base colour. I love turquoise but it does not love me, but teal works…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Update 20/10/17 | The Librain……retired

Leave a Reply

