Wardrobe planning #23: Fun jewellery

As I am 60, you would imagine that I have a lot of costume jewellery, collected over the decades. In fact, I wore a shell pendant the other week that I think was a birthday or Christmas present when I was either 12 or 13! Some of this jewellery is what I call “fun” in that it causes amusement when people see me wearing it, rather than hysterical laughter because I look inappropriate for my age. Well, I hope that the latter doesn’t happen!

You can see elsewhere on this blog that I was a school librarian for many years and I really enjoyed working with children and young adults. When I first started I was not a lot older than the sixth formers; when I finished I was probably granny age. I was a pretty strong disciplinarian, but maintained a good relationship with the students and my colleagues through humour. That humour came, sometimes, from my jewellery…

Librarian necklace - Tatty Devine

Librarian necklace – Tatty Devine

When I found Tatty Devine I realised that I could have some fun with their range of perspex jewellery. Amongst other items, they make personalised name necklaces, so I had this “Librarian” one made in sparkly turquoise. I still wear it because I feel that once a librarian, always a Librarian!

Librarian necklace - Tatty Devine

Librarian necklace – Tatty Devine

Working along similar lines, I also bought a range of “book” jewellery, both earrings and necklaces, which amused visitors to the school library. These were all from traders on Etsy. If you search for “book earrings” etc., you will find quite a few examples. I had intended to collect more, but then I had to retire early. I do still wear these occasionally, particularly when I visit the local library as the staff have fun looking at them and it opens up a nice chat sometimes.

Book jewellery - Etsy

Book jewellery – Etsy

Clockwise from the top left:

  • Winter is Coming necklace – GlamorousGlueDesigns on Etsy. Based on Game of Thrones.
  • Game of Thrones book charm bracelet – LittleLiterature on Etsy (no longer trading).
  • Little Women book earring – ChimeraCuriosities on Etsy (not sure if still trading). This tiny book actually opens and has printed pages.
  • Alice in Wonderland necklace – BaillieDay on Etsy. This has small charms, such as a working watch, rose, key, “drink me” bottle, rabbit, etc.
  • Alice in Wonderland book earring – ChimeraCuriosities on Etsy (not sure if still trading). Tiny opening book with printed pages.

When Christmas came around, I had a few sets of fun earrings to wear. In fact, I like the quilled purple and gold paper ones so much that I wear them all year round.

Christmas earrings - Etsy

Christmas earrings – Etsy

Clockwise from top left:

  • Polymer clay Christmas cake earrings – DragonsDust on Etsy.
  • Vintage tree light earrings – iheartmyartuk on Etsy.
  • Polymer clay Christmas pudding earrings – DragonsDust on Etsy.
  • Quilled paper, purple and gold earrings – VBPureDesigns on Etsy.

I hope you have found this post amusing, at the very least. It is nice to have fun with accessories or jewellery once in a while, without going over the top. Anyway, I will write more about my costume jewellery collection next week.

Best wishes,

💙💚❤️💜💛

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Jewellery, Wardrobe planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wardrobe planning #23: Fun jewellery

  1. Katie says:

    Love love love your librarian necklace! It’s fun and blingy……a perfect combination! The quilled earrings are beautiful, I have a good friend who quills…I might suggest she try earrings!
    Enjoy your evening!

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      Yes, I think that quilled earrings look lovely. You have to be a bit careful with them as they are so delicate. All the best to you 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

