Reading roundup 14/06/17

I haven’t read nearly as many books as I did last week, although that week was pretty exceptional. Perhaps I have been reading more web-based stuff? More likely, I got caught up with the General Election and became obsessed with politics for a few days, reading everything I could get my hands on. I couldn’t sleep on election night and ended up watching it all unfold until the early hours of the morning. Then I felt awful for the next couple of days. Well, physically awful!

The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths

The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths

Anyway, I did finish The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths. I really love her Ruth Galloway series, but didn’t feel the same about this book. Set in 1950s Brighton and other seaside towns of the period, I found it difficult to keep going. The plot was interesting, but not gripping. I then started the next book in the series, but gave up on it after a few pages. I have decided that I will not continue with a book if I am not enjoying it enough. There are far too many in my wish list to waste time on anything that doesn’t appeal to me.

Beyond the Truth by Anne Holt

Beyond the Truth by Anne Holt

I then ended up with nothing in my book pile as I needed to visit the library and I didn’t feel well enough to go! Eek! This is when the library’s ebook service comes in very useful. I was able to browse through the list and selected a book by Anne Holt: Beyond the Truth, #7 in her Hanne Wilhelmsen series. I have read quite a few books by this author and have found that they have been translated from the Norwegian and published here in a fairly random order, which can be awkward. It does help to read them in order as there is a background story which flows through the series. I gave this one three stars as it was not the author’s best, in my opinion.

Thin Air by Ann Cleeves

Thin Air by Ann Cleeves

Back to the wonderful Ann Cleeves for my next read. I have got a bit out of sequence with her two series, Vera and Shetland, as I now have to request them from the library and they are becoming available in the wrong order. Never mind, I love her books and I am sure I will enjoy this one. I will let you know next week.

Best wishes,

💙💚❤️💛💜

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Libraries, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

