Outfit of the day 20/06/17

I am cheating again! In reality I am sitting in the coolest room in the house with an electric fan wearing a thin cotton nightdress and very little else. Yesterday I sweltered in a large baggy t-shirt and knickers! Yes, Summer has arrived in the UK with a vengeance. Those of you who are reading this from beyond our shores may perhaps laugh at our British obsession with the weather. Living in the English Midlands, we are used to a very changeable but temperate climate. We are not used to extreme weather events and our homes and buildings are not constructed to deal with them. So when we get huge storms, heavy snowfall, very high humidity or very low temperatures we… simply… cannot… cope! Very few workplaces or homes have air conditioners, most do not have thick walls or shutters at the windows. So we swelter and sweat and faint and moan!!!

OK, perhaps some people can deal happily with hot weather like this and rush out to beaches, parks or lidos to lie out in the sun. In fact I used to enjoy hot days when on holiday in the Mediterranean, but I am really struggling at the moment. My illnesses, such as asthma, make this almost unbearable. One night, I was hardly able to breathe and kept waking up gasping for air. It was very frightening. I am very glad that it is a little cooler today and hope the night will be better.

Anyway, I will show the outfit that I wore on Saturday before I was overcome with the urge to strip just about everything off! Eek! Not a pretty sight. I did have to laugh this morning, though. Lovely Husband hardly ever seems to notice what I wear, unless I am really dolled up. This morning, he looked at me (in my “ever-so posh” nightie) and said, with a wink, “You look very elegant today!” I grinned and struck a pose. “But you are always beautiful to me, whatever you wear,” he replied with a smile. Ahh! 😍

Today’s outfit:

  • Aqua cotton relaxed t-shirt – Lands’ End.
  • Beige chinos – Lands’ End.
  • Blue leather sandals – Suave.
  • Pearl stud earrings – John Lewis.
  • Turquoise and cream bead necklace with gold charms – BOHO-LANE via Etsy.
Today's outfit

Today’s outfit

Situation in the UK

The atmosphere here is very sombre at the moment and I have been trying to deal with my reaction to recent events. My mental health is such that I cannot cope with writing about these on this blog, so I will stick to the mainly trivial for the time being. It goes without saying that that I feel very strongly for all people who have been affected, but I am not going to write about those feelings.

Best wishes and stay safe,

💛💙💚❤️💜

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Health, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

