Outfit of the day 04/07/17

First of all, I wish a very happy Fourth of July to all US readers! I hope you are having a wonderful day 😀.

Hairdresser day again! I am so pleased that I was able to make it. Last night I had an awful coughing fit and I woke up this morning feeling horribly nauseous. It was a sudden wake-up too because Elder Son rang me on my mobile and I was still deeply asleep. He is away from home this week on one of his “little trips” and he likes to text and call me at all kinds of times to let me know what he is doing.

Anyway, I think that the hairdresser did a good job, although I will not really know until I  wash my hair for the first time. She blow dries it nicely, but I only wash and leave it to do what it will. I keep wondering when will be the right time to grow my grey hairs out and stop dyeing, but I am not quite ready to take that drastic step as yet. Perhaps it will be when I am 65 or 70 or…

Today’s outfit:

  • Bright navy, cotton mix cardigan – Lands’ End.
  • White cotton vest – Lands’ End.
  • Navy and white linen trousers – Isle.
  • Navy leather sandals – Suave.
  • Cream enamel and gold “Byzantine” bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Coral enamel and gold plain bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Bluebell and cream enamel and gold “Owl” bangle – Halcyon Days.
  • Crystal and gold stud earrings.
  • Silk scarf 45cm, The Savana Dance – Hermès.
The Savana Dance - Hermès - collage #04

The Savana Dance – Hermès – collage #04

As the day was quite warm, despite occasional drizzle, I thought that a gavroche would work well and I have not worn this one many times since I bought it. The colours in it are lovely: blues, coral pink, white and grey in the main. The bangles tone in well, with the coral enamel picking up the pink in the scarf. I also love the cute owls on the blue bangle – they make me think of Younger Son, who used to love certain birds of prey, including owls.

Here is the result of the hairdresser visit today, please excuse the lack of makeup. I barely managed to get there this morning as even getting dressed felt exhausting!

New hairdo!

New hairdo!

Confession time! I was very, very naughty last night. All this talk of “money trees” here in the U.K. has led to me looking at mine and realising that a tiny branch had borne enough fruit for a couple of purchases. One lot in the current Lands’ End sale and another from…

Well, I will tell you on Thursday!

Tomorrow’s post will be the usual Reading Roundup, assuming that all is well.

Best wishes,

💜💛💚💙❤️

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Family, Health, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Scarves, Shopping, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outfit of the day 04/07/17

  1. I love this look! The colors go together really nicely.
    That being said, I hope you feel better soon! I keep my phone in airplane mode when I sleep. I started doing that after a not-so-close friend called me at 3am and I was in a crazy deep sleep. I was so mad I had a hard time falling back asleep!
    They say that the radiation from one’s phone signal is also super bad for you and it’s important to cut that off at night. I don’t know how true that is, but disconnecting has for sure led to better sleep. 🙂

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      Thanks for your comment and apologies for taking so long to reply. I hardly ever use my mobile phone as I only really bought for emergencies when I was driving long distances to work. My husband is so techno-phobic that he won’t even have one! The only time I use mine is if one of my sons is away. They like texting me 😀.

      Like

      • Nah, it’s cool. 😊 different priorities, amirite?
        And hey, if that works for you, that’s great. Too much screen time is bad for you, even in the short term. I used my laptop for HOURS Sunday and developed a touch of eye strain and had a horrible headache all Monday. 😣 I need to find an alternative way to write that won’t cramp up my hand(via paper) or hurt my head(via screen time). 🤔

        Like

Leave a Reply

