Outfit of the day 24/07/17

It is still gloomy and cold for July, so I wore a fine-knit twin-set today rather than a t-shirt and cardigan. This one is in a silk and cotton mix from WoolOvers in a gorgeous cerise. Although I love the colour, it doesn’t go with much in my wardrobe, apart from a couple of things that I will show you later in the post. When it finally gives out, I will not replace it with anything in the same colour as I am now choosing more orangey coral pinks, not this kind of bluish pink. Coral pink goes with more of my accessories and scarves, and I think suits me more than cerise.

Today’s outfit:

  • Cerise silk and cotton mix top – WoolOvers.
  • Cerise silk and cotton mix cardigan – WoolOvers.
  • Indigo jeans – Cotton Traders.
  • Dried flowers under resin and silver drop earrings – present from my sister.
  • Dried flowers under resin and silver bracelet – ditto.
Outfit of the day 24/07/17

Outfit of the day 24/07/17

I actually bought the twin-set some years ago because I had fallen for these shoes from Clarks, which I had seen online. This is the dangerous kind of impulse buying that I am trying to avoid by setting particular colours for my wardrobe. When you buy something on the spur of the moment, you risk getting into a kind of chain reaction – first the shoes, then a top, a cardigan, a skirt, some jewellery, more shoes etc. Organising yourself so that you have a wardrobe plan and colours helps you stop this cascade of shopping – well, most of the time!

Anyway, here are the shoes, Clarks Cloudy Skies in fuchsia and orange SS 2013:

Fuchsia and orange suede court shoes - Clarks

Fuchsia and orange suede court shoes – Clarks

Aren’t they pretty – you can see why I fell for them!

So, then I had to get a skirt which would set off the twin-set and the shoes, especially as they didn’t quite match. I bought this white linen skirt from Viyella, via Amazon, also in 2013:

White linen skirt - Viyella

White linen skirt – Viyella

Well, at least the skirt does fit into my colour wheel and goes with just about everything I wear in the Summer! That is if I can still get into it. I am continuing to put on loads of weight, which is depressing. I can’t exercise enough to lose anything and my tum is getting bigger – eek!

I can also just about wear the twin-set and skirt with this handbag (but not the shoes – my brown sandals look best here). The photo has distorted the colour somewhat – it is a bit deeper than the cerise of the twin-set. The handbag is a large hobo design from the now sadly defunct Peony and Moore – Mariella with old gold hardware SS 2011.

Fuchsia and brown leather handbag - Peony and Moore

Fuchsia and brown leather handbag – Peony and Moore

That’s it for today, folks.

Best wishes,

💚💙💜💛❤️

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Clothes, Footwear, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Shopping, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Outfit of the day 24/07/17

  1. I feel you on the slippery slope! I try to be careful with the things I get but sometimes a gal just sees something she NEEDS and only has one or two things that match. 😅 hehe, oops!

    Like

  2. Pudfish says:

    I can completely understand why you fell for those shoes! I am trying now not to buy any high heels, as living in the countryside I just don’t wear them. Wellies for me!

    Like

    • The Librain says:

      I don’t get any opportunity to wear heels now, even if I wanted to. Instead I am trying to find the impossible – wide fitting, comfortable and stylish footwear!

      Like

Leave a Reply

