Reading roundup 26/07/17

I have not been reading books as much this week as I have been caught up, like much of the country, in the tragic case of a certain little boy and his family. I will not blog about this at all and I don’t think I should even think about it really as it is so very sad. The implications are concerning, but it would not be good for my own health or this blog to speculate here.

Cold Earth by Ann Cleeves

Cold Earth by Ann Cleeves

There are a couple of books I can write about for this week’s roundup. Firstly Ann Cleeves’ Cold Earth – the latest book in her Shetland series. I was enthusiastic about the book last week, when I had just started reading it, however, I only gave it three stars on Goodreads. It began well and, as usual, I enjoyed the interplay of the characters that we have grown to like during the series. But, I felt that there were almost too many plot lines on the go at once and the ending came too swiftly and with very little signaling. It is one thing not to guess the “baddie”, but to have no hints at all?!?

I am a bit cross with myself as I have been reading the Shetland series out of order, for a number of reasons – mainly because I got in a muddle with my reservations and requests for the print books and ebooks from the library service. I only have one left to read for now and that is the second in the series: White Nights. Obviously, my whole view of this book will be affected by the fact that I have so recently finished number 7! Quite often, reading a series out of order does not matter too much, but I think that it does matter in this case as the overarching tale is so important to the whole.

The Forsaken by Ace Atkins

The Forsaken by Ace Atkins

During my last library visit, I kind of randomly borrowed the second book of this week’s roundup: The Forsaken by Ace Atkins. Committing the “sin” mentioned in my last paragraph once again, (that of reading out of sequence), this is the fourth (aargh!) in Atkins’ Quinn Colson series, set in the USA’s Deep South. Here is the review I wrote for Goodreads:

I found this hard to get into at first for a number of reasons. Firstly, it was the fourth book in a series so I was entering part way into a longer running story for the main characters. Also, so much of the language and culture was really alien to me. I didn’t know some of the everyday words and objects and would have had to stop too many times to look them up. As I carried on, though, the plot engaged me so much that I really began to enjoy the book. The characters were interesting and I may even read more in the series.

Yes, yet more crime novels!

You may be interested to know that I have now finished 62 books so far this year, according to my tally on Goodreads. I read over 140 in 2016, so I have a long way to go to match that. Mind you, I most probably won’t reach anywhere near that number as there is one thing taking up my time that was not doing so last year – this blog! I am so pleased to be able to enjoy writing again as well as reading 😀.

White Nights by Ann Cleeves

White Nights by Ann Cleeves

Anyway, I have already mentioned my current book further up the post: Ann Cleeves’ White Nights. So I had better finish this and get stuck in!

Best wishes,

💚💙💜💛❤️

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Libraries, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

