Update 31/07/17 The Handmaid’s Tale

This is not an Outfit of the Day post because I have been in bed all day again, wearing a motley array of comfort clothing, which is not fit to be photographed! I hope readers enjoyed the Escales Mediterranéenes post on Friday – it is just as well that I had prepared that in advance as I have been laid up since Thursday evening. As I wrote in that day’s post, we had a lovely day and even managed to have a pub lunch, but that evening I had a humongous coughing attack. It has taken days to recover from it and I hope to be able to go downstairs tomorrow.

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Today, I watched the final episode of The Handmaid’s Tale on my iPad. I think that this has been one of the best TV productions of a book that I have ever seen. The whole thing – superb acting, costumes, sets, script, cinematography, use of music – has been so well done and I hope that it wins loads of awards. I read Margaret Atwood’s book when it was first published in the 1980s and it really had an effect on me then, but this version has felt like a tsunami hitting my emotions. Visceral horror, heartbreaking sadness, teeth-gritting anger, uplifting hope have poured over me in turn. As I have been unable to watch it with anyone else and have conversations about it afterwards, I have been following and lurking on the fantastic discussion threads on Mumsnet. I highly recommend them to you.

Mumsnet
The Handmaid’s Tale
The Handmaid’s Tale Vol 2
The Handmaid’s Tale Vol 3

There is also a range of other threads on this topic on Mumsnet which you can find with an Advanced Search. The threads also have links to discussions, reviews and articles on other websites, giving even further insight into both the TV series and the original book.

Edited 01/08/17: There was a very good review of the final episode and the series as a whole in The Guardian yesterday (31/07/17): The Handmaid’s Tale review – no television event has hit such a nerve, by Sam Wollaston.

Some weeks ago, I requested the ebook version from my local library service. It became available to me last week, so I will re-read it as soon as I have finished my book pile. It will be so interesting to read it again all these years later, with an older and even more staunchly radical feminist viewpoint and having just seen the TV series!

Best wishes,

💛💚💙💙❤️

Edited 01/08/17: added Guardian link.

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Health, Politics, Reading, Women's Rights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update 31/07/17 The Handmaid’s Tale

  1. Pingback: Reading roundup 09/08/17 | The Librain……retired

Leave a Reply

