Reading roundup 16/08/17

I was quite shocked, when I checked on Goodreads, to see that I have only finished two books this week, as I am not sure what else I have been doing with my time. Writing this blog, perhaps? Anyway, I will use my Goodreads reviews to tell you what I thought about these two, then I will get back to my current book.

Just one more thing: as I have been unable to visit the library (until this afternoon – hooray!), I have been fulfilling my thirst for books by using the public library’s ebook service on my iPad. I am beginning to think that ebook reading has an affect on me – more about that later on in this post.

Dead Joker by Anne Holt

Dead Joker by Anne Holt

The first book was Anne Holt’s Dead Joker, one of her Hanne Wilhelmsen series. This is what I wrote on Goodreads:

An excellent read but very difficult to review without giving away vital elements. Good character development and a twisting plot. I will be reading more in the series.

OK, that doesn’t say very much, but please bear in mind that I gave it four stars! I have already read several in this series and, although the main character is not altogether likeable, she is very interesting and intriguing. Holt’s plots are also good in that they keep the reader guessing until close to the end.

Stormbird by Conn Iggulden

Stormbird by Conn Iggulden

The second book is part one of a series about the Wars of the Roses – Stormbird by Conn Iggulden. I have read both fiction and non-fiction about this period and have watched several TV programmes too, so I do already have a little knowledge. Mind you, the story is very complicated and convoluted and I was very pleased that Iggulden had made such a good job of this first episode. Here is my Goodreads review:

I rate this as 3 1/2 stars really. An enjoyable read and it started very well, but I kind of lost interest a bit in the middle. I found that the technique of using different characters’ points of view got a bit annoying at times as the storyline was interrupted so often. I do like Iggulden’s writing and will continue to read more in the series. Perhaps some of my difficulty was reading this as an ebook as opposed to a print version. I find that my concentration slides with ebooks, especially as I read using my iPad. I get distracted by notifications, the sudden urge to read my emails or play a game – am I reverting back to my teens?!?

What is Mine by Anne Holt

What is Mine by Anne Holt

Before I start my new library books, I am reading another book by Anne Holt, which I will write about next week: What is Mine, #01 in her Vik and Stubo series. Good stuff so far!

I will now organise the lovely book pile on my bedside table… 😍😍😍

Best wishes and happy reading,

💜💚💛❤️💙

About The Librain

Retired School Librarian
This entry was posted in Libraries, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

